Running The Distance

Hot, humid, and almost no breeze. I was running on a hilly road, pushing up one hill, bounding down the other side, plodding on over a flat section, and then getting mentally geared for the next hill. The heat of the the day and the heat I was generating seemed to have found my body to be a nice place to reside. I was sweating profusely, but the humidity prevented it from having the full cooling effect it is designed to have. Instead of relieving heat, the moisture cascading down my skin seemed to be keeping it in. To add to the mess, I hadn’t eaten particularly well that day. My body felt like a machine that hadn’t been greased, and hadn’t been given proper fuel. I wanted to stop. However, stopping would defeat the point. I pushed through, finishing as a completely, exhausted, dehydrated person, but the mental and emotional benefit of knowing that I had pushed through was more than worth the physical pain. The reward I would reap at the end would make the discomfort seem silly.

This is how it is with anything worthwhile, though. Good things come with a certain amount of pain, and it is our choice whether we are willing to be tough enough, and dedicated enough to push through.

 

 

This entry was posted in Fear, Lifestyle, Perseverance, Running, Sports, Stress, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Running The Distance

  1. Shemen Sason says:

    It’s kind of funny how this story reminds me of how much our heavenly Daddy loves us! Im so glad there’s nothing we could ever do to make Him love us more! He’s so in love with each of us!

Leave a comment